Drinking on the Job…Green Tea that is!

June 13, 2011 § Leave a comment

I drink a good amount of water throughout the day, always keeping my cup nearby.  I started drinking green tea about 10 months ago, having a cup every morning.  This took a bit of getting used to, as I never used to drink anything warm in the morning on a consistent basis.  Sticking to it has been a challenge.  I decided to try to drink the green tea cold…like iced tea instead and it worked!  I drink this all day long and I added in a few extra ingredients to boost the benefits. 

I like to drink the decaffeinated green tea with white tea by Celestial Seasonings, I normally pick up a box from my local Target store.

I brew two to three teabags in a pot of spring water on the stove for a few minutes.  Then I remove from the heat and let it cool completely.

I get an orange, a lemon, a piece of ginger and some fresh mint leaves.  I slice the orange and lemon into thin slices and chop the ginger and mint leaves into small pieces to get the flavor out.

 

I take all of the ingredients and put them in a jug.

I then pour the tea from the pot, right into the jug.


I even add in the teabags into the jug so that it keeps steeping throughout the day.

I then add in the ice, so that it can chill quickly and ready to pour into a glass.

I stir it up a little.

I pour it into my favorite BPA-free plastic cup and drink all day long! 

I use the the same pieces of orange, lemon, mint and ginger for a couple of days…I just brew a fresh pot of tea everyday and add it to the jug…let it sit overnight and the flavor of the ingredients continue to come out.  Throw out and start fresh as necessary.

Very refreshing, especially in the hot summer months. I hope you try it out for yourself and also research the health benefits of all the ingredients that I used.  It’s definitely a powerful drink!  Enjoy!

Tagged: ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Drinking on the Job…Green Tea that is! at yellowfinche.

meta